There is no Frigate Like a Book 2016-1-11

Bayeux

Bayeux

There is no frigate like a book                                                                                                                            To take us to lands far away,                                                                                                                             Nor any coursers like a page                                                                                                                              Of prancing poetry:                                                                                                                                             This traverse may the poorest take                                                                                                     Without oppress of toll;                                                                                                                                     How frugal is the chariot                                                                                                                                 That bears the human soul!                                                                                                                                                                                                  Emily Dickinson

Oh my how true this is, I am one who loves mathematics, history and reading; but I dislike grammar and spelling. I loved the literary classes which entailed reading and discussing books, poems and philosophies and have enjoyed reading since I was able to understand the written word.

Reading is a wonderful way to lose oneself in the story, be it comedy, science fiction, fiction, nonfiction, detective, mystery, romance, history…….. Instead of being force-fed others preconceived ideas of the scene as depicted in movies and television, books let you use your own imagination to visualize what I had read in the words of the author.

I have always used books to explore far away places, learn of other countries history, culture and to plan where to visit. I am still a “stick in the mud old timer” who would rather have a good printed book or map in my hand than a computer or phone screen in front of me. Give me the printed word, be it a map, book or magazine,  in my room in the evening, on a plane, in a train, wandering around town or country or just sitting enjoying the sunshine in the outdoors.

Mind you, I still use the computer to get updated information on places I am visiting, booking rooms, finding food establishments, seeing other travelers comments and recommendations and keeping up with family and friends, but the bookshelf of travel / history books and maps in my study has set the stage for all the adventure and exploration that has been taken by us.  I hope the printed word never dies as the batteries in my phone have so I may keep reading and enjoying the stories even in the middle of nowhere with out any power source.

It is so nice to unplug from the electronic leash that we all carry today.

Leave a Reply

